• The KillerFrogs

Cable Alternatives and Sling TV

HG73

This has probably been discussed before, but I am sick of cable with 200 channels that I don't watch.

Sling offers just what I need for $20/mo.  ESPN, ESPN2, AMC, Hist, CNN etc.  I have an antenna for broadcast channels.

But no Fox cable sports channels.

I'm only really interested in getting Frog games, and would get Fox on broadcast TV, but no FSSW etc.

How many Frog football games would I miss if I cut cable and got Sling?  I would have ABC, Fox, ESPN and ESPN2.

Obviously I know next to nothing about streaming etc.  Any and all help is appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

shhaight

I bought a Slingbox and attached it to a family member's TV that has full sports cable package in another state. Not only do I now get local FOX/CBS/NBC NFL games (that I do not get in my local area), but I get all the Fox Sports and ESPN channels as well. It was like $150 one time fee, no monthly charges. I have been using it for 5 years or so. If you know someone who would be willing to let you piggyback on their system, this is a good way to go. Quality sometimes isnt the best, but its cheap.

wes

KIllerfrog Emeritus
shhaight said:
I bought a Slingbox and attached it to a family member's TV that has full sports cable package in another state. Not only do I now get local FOX/CBS/NBC NFL games (that I do not get in my local area), but I get all the Fox Sports and ESPN channels as well. It was like $150 one time fee, no monthly charges. I have been using it for 5 years or so. If you know someone who would be willing to let you piggyback on their system, this is a good way to go. Quality sometimes isnt the best, but its cheap.
So by piggybacking, how do you do that?

I am ready to cut this cable and move to streaming but want to make sure that I do it right

shhaight

wes said:

I am ready to cut this cable and move to streaming but want to make sure that I do it right