• The KillerFrogs

OT: your go to bar at TCU and why

JugbandFrog

Pub.

I have too many memories. Forgot most of them.

Funniest memory has to do with the Pub (which I opened and closed several times) while I lived in San Francisco. The owner of the Kezar Sports Pub was named Dave, Irish fella, but every night he would announce the last cal for alcohol, very much like Pub Dave would, but without all the patrons screaming "scheiss you Dave!"

One night I was extremely wasted as a result of winning the Jagrbomb contest and when he called out the last call, I screamed "scheiss you Dave!" And was immediately thrown out. Haha

I went back in another day and explained it all away.

Bob

Nobody has mentioned the Horny Toad over by 8th Ave in the '80s.  I ran Hunters around the same time.

Limp Lizard

Big difference between watering holes for students-new grads and older folks.  

When I was a student, not many real "bars" around.  To get mixed drinks you had to join a "club."  

More recently, it will be hard, indeed to replace the Oui.

That is one thing I really admired about England, lots of local pubs, where everybody knows your name.  Just a short walk from wherever you are.  The English love to talk over a pint.

BABYFACE

texas_sicilian said:
I remember Cheyenne. A girl in one of the sororities got kicked out for participating in their best body night. She won, so there's that.
The tan line contests were legendary. Some girls that wanted to win would take it all off. I was judge once for this contest. Had a girl contestant once turn around drop her drawers and touch her toes.

Zubaz

I've been graduated from TCU for 12 years and the pub is still my favorite bar. Not favorite TCU bar, favorite overall bar. Dave is a national treasure.

Shorty

BrewingFrog said: