• The KillerFrogs

ESPN Sues Conference USA

West Coast Johnny

http://www.ky3.com/sports/os-espn-sues-cusa-0331-20110330,0,1994519.story

ESPN filed a federal lawsuit against Conference USA Wednesday alleging the league failed to fulfill its contractual obligations when it signed a new contract with Fox Sports Media Group in January.<BR itxtNodeId="519"><BR itxtNodeId="518">ESPN states in the lawsuit it reached a contract extension agreement with Conference USA via e-mail, but the league later decided to pursue a contract with Fox Sports Media Group. ESPN also alleges Conference USA never gave it a final offer to consider before beginning negotiations with another network, a right ESPN contends was part of the previous contact.<BR itxtNodeId="517">

I am not a contracts lawyer, but I would imagine once a contract runs it's course there is very little legal grounds to forcing a league to negotiate a contract extension.

Seems more like ESPN is upset at the fact that ConfUSA didn't give them a shot at the new contract and so they are going to sue just to get the last little bit of money out of ConfUSA as possible. Sucks for ConfUSA if they do have to pay out b/c they failed to give ESPN a chance at bidding on the new contract, they could of let them put up an offer and immediately rejected it even if it was better than fox.

cdsfrog

I am not a contracts lawyer, but I would imagine once a contract runs it's course there is very little legal grounds to forcing a league to negotiate a contract extension.

Seems more like ESPN is upset at the fact that ConfUSA didn't give them a shot at the new contract and so they are going to sue just to get the last little bit of money out of ConfUSA as possible. Sucks for ConfUSA if they do have to pay out b/c they failed to give ESPN a chance at bidding on the new contract, they could of let them put up an offer and immediately rejected it even if it was better than fox.

ESPN can suck it. Crybabies

Dogfrog