• The KillerFrogs

Luken Baker injury info

Purpletoad

So many scenarios and speculation. I will say two summers ago a kid on my son's team had the exact same scenario and injury playing first base. It was ugly...We were in Florida and it was the last inning of the last game of the last tourney we played that year. After MRI, they got the call that there was a tear in the ucl ligament. I talked to the dad that day and he was already assuming tommy john surgery. Later, at the appointment, the surgeon recommended rehab rather than surgery. It was on non-throwing arm. Rehab would have been approximately 6 months if he had surgery.

flyfishingfrog

Because the recovery time would have him miss all of the 2018 season

Wow - lot of wild speculation in this thread and some people that need to step away from the computer

I am a physician and can honestly say I have no idea when he will be able to play again

There are so many variables it's crazy to even guess

However comparing the recovery time of a guy that plays 1b and DH that hurt his non-throwing arm to the recovery time of a major league pitcher that had the same surgery on his throwing arm is probably going to be far from accurate

French Frog

LB arm wrapped from top to above wrist. Not in sling.
Not in a sling would be unusual, if he injured anything above the elbow. After I reviewed the video it looked like several possible injuries could have occurred.

1. Left humerus spiral fracture. Would be in a sling if this happened.

2. Left elbow UCL tear. He would usually be wrapped and in a sling for this injury.

3. Left elbow fracture or fracture/dislocation. This is the one type of injury I can imagine wrapping upper arm to hand, with no sling. Since it may need to be reduced surgically.