• The KillerFrogs

Peel back the onion layers boys

Toad Jones

Quick questions:

Why would it be in Gary's best interest to get an extension right away?

Gary's contract is up in two years.

If i'm a good assistant coach who is highly thought of and services in demand, would I uproot my family for two years?

If your head coach gets an extension of 5 yrs plus the remaining two leftover, would you then consider coming to TCU as an assistant? (total 7 yrs)

If your a hot shot assistant and investigate Gary's record and procedures, would you come and coach for him?

SackLunch

Quick questions:

Why would it be in Gary's best interest to get an extension right away?

Gary's contract is up in two years.

If i'm a good assistant coach who is highly thought of and services in demand, would I uproot my family for two years?

If your head coach gets an extension of 5 yrs plus the remaining two leftover, would you then consider coming to TCU as an assistant? (total 7 yrs)

If your a hot shot assistant and investigate Gary's record and procedures, would you come and coach for him?
I would look more at the fact that in the 20+ years that GP has been at TCU he has had maybe 1 coach who left and was successful at a different school (Fuente). To me, that doesn't exactly show that the coaches that work under GP have much success after they leave his program. For defensive coaches it is because he does everything so they don't learn how to game plan or develop their own style of coaching/recruiting. I would also look at the fact that the few coaches that did try to speak up and contribute their own thoughts and weren't just "yes men" got ran off soon after (Nystrom, Shannon, McMillan, Phillips). Offensively I'm sure it's hard to grow and develop as a coach when you are constantly being told that what you are doing is wrong or that you should "run the damn ball". ie. Cumbie.

SackLunch