1. The KillerFrogs
    Dismiss Notice

GoFrogs: TCU Selected to WNIT; Plays at Home Thursday

Discussion in 'Scott Nix Frog Fan Forum' started by TopFrog, Mar 13, 2018.

  1. http://www.gofrogs.com/sports/w-baskbl/spec-rel/031218aaa.html

    GoFrogs: TCU Selected to WNIT; Plays at Home Thursday

    Buy Tickets | Tournament Information | Complete Bracket [​IMG]

    FORT WORTH, Texas -- TCU women's basketball has been selected to play in the 2018 Postseason WNIT and will host Lamar at Schollmaier Arena on Thursday in the tournament's first round.

    The Horned Frogs and Cardinals will tip off at 6:30 p.m. The game can be seen on GoFrogs.com. Tickets are available through the TCU Ticket Office at GoFrogs.com or by calling 877-828-3764 beginning on Tuesday. Tickets are just $10 for adults, $5 for youth and $4 for groups. TCU students will be admitted for free.

    TCU (19-12) is making its 15th postseason appearance in the last 18 seasons, including its sixth WNIT appearance. The Frogs enter the tournament after winning 19 games this season, their most since joining the Big 12. TCU also won its most Big 12 games with nine, played in its first Big 12 Championship semifinal and earned its first top-25 ranking since 2010.

    Lamar (22-7) won the Southland Conference regular season championship with a 17-1 record in conference play. The Cardinals, however, were upset in the Southland Conference Tournament by eventual champion Nicholls. The loss snapped Lamar's school-record 14-game winning streak.

    The winner of Thursday's game between TCU and Lamar will take on the winner of Louisiana Tech and Missouri State who play on Thursday in Ruston, La. The date and location of that game will be determined at a later date.

    TCU is one of three Big 12 teams participating in the WNIT, joining West Virginia and Kansas State. The Horned Frogs earned the league's automatic berth by being the highest finishing team in the regular-season standings not selected into the NCAA Championships.

    The Postseason WNIT is a 64-team, single-elimination tournament with all games, including the semifinals and championship, being hosted by participating schools. The bracket is comprised of 32 automatic berths and 32 at-large berths.

Share This Page