1. The KillerFrogs

BIG XII replay rule

Discussion in 'Scott & Wes Frog Fan Forum' started by Double D, Dec 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I have been informed by an Aggie buddy that there is a BIG XII rule on replay that states that the game time can be checked only if the previous play was reviewable. If that is the case, then the BIG XII ignored their own rules in the BIG XII championship game.

    The play at the end of the game was not reviewable. UT should have lost due to MACK incompetence and poor clock management.
     
  2. QUOTE(Double D @ Dec 7 2009, 10:40 AM) [snapback]470790[/snapback]
    I have been informed by an Aggie buddy that there is a BIG XII rule on replay that states that the game time can be checked only if the previous play was reviewable. If that is the case, then the BIG XII ignored their own rules in the BIG XII championship game.

    The play at the end of the game was not reviewable. UT should have lost due to MACK incompetence and poor clock management.


    Today's FWST:

    http://www.star-telegram.com/college_sport...ry/1813827.html

    [SIZE=14pt]Big 12 officials say ruling on final second was correct[/SIZE]

    By JIMMY BURCH
    jburch@star-telegram.com

    Big 12 officials issued a further explanation Sunday about the rule used to give Texas its opportunity to kick a game-winning field goal as time expired Saturday in the Longhorns' 13-12 victory over Nebraska in the Big 12 Championship Game at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington.

    The winning kick came one play after game officials used replay review to restore one second on the clock, which showed 0:00 after an incomplete pass by Texas triggered a premature victory celebration by Nebraska players. The rule that allowed the final play is Rule 12, Section 3, Article 6.

    After outlining the limitations on reviewable plays, the rule says: "The replay official may correct egregious errors, including those involving the game clock, whether or not a play is reviewable."

    Bob Burda, Big 12 assistant commissioner/communications, said Sunday that was the precedent used to return one second to the game clock before Texas kicker Hunter Lawrence connected on a 46-yard field goal that gave the Longhorns (13-0) their first Big 12 title since 2005 and a berth against Alabama (13-0) in the BCS National Championship Game, Jan. 7 in Pasadena, Calif.

    Walt Anderson, the Big 12 coordinator of football officials, cited Rule 12:3 during a post-game explanation of league procedures. But he did not cite the article. In the Big 12 rules, Article 3 under Rule 12:3 says a replay-related clock adjustment can be made only "when a ruling on the field is reversed."

    However, Article 6 trumps Article 3 because it allows for correction of clock-related errors on any play. After the game, Anderson noted that the clock was re-set on more than one play during the contest and that replay officials had a clear view, provided by TV cameras, that showed the incomplete pass hitting the ground with one second remaining.

    "Any type of an egregious clock error can be corrected," Anderson said after the game. "This is exactly what we want the officials to do."

    Jimmy Burch, 817-390-7760
     
  3. NCAA review rule Article 6 states the clock can be reviewed if there was an error.

    NCAA trumps Big XII rules, and this has been discussed fully.

    No need to rehash it again, so I'm locking this down.

    EDIT: Top Frog with the quick copy/paste FTW! Thanks!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page