• The KillerFrogs

If you could pick....

Moose Stuff

1) J R Richard
2) Jon Peters (full disclosure — I played several baseball games against Jon and his “injuries” were not all physical.) In fact, I felt like he was the second-best pitcher on his own team by the time I graduated.

He probably was. James Nix was definitely more talented than him.

Limp Lizard

For us old guys...Mickey Mantle. One of the all time greats who tore his ACL his rookie season and played that way his entire 18-year career. His home plate to first base time (3.1 seconds) is still the record. To Baby Boomer boys like myself, he was the baseball star. Was out the end of 1961 when Roger Maris hit 61 homers. Pretty good chance Mantle could have beaten him that year. Always injured, (nearly) always hung over, Mantle was a remarkable talent.

As far as TCU guys go, I'll have to say Scott Ankrom. He as a phenomenal talent until he tore up his knee against SMU. He put more DBs on the ground with his moves than I have ever seen. Still holds the record with the longest pass play (99 yds, Ankrom to Maness) for TCU.

Pharm Frog

He probably was. James Nix was definitely more talented than him.

And likely why we only faced Peters for two innings my entire varsity career. Actually I felt like there were at least four pitchers in that 6-team zone better than Jon by the time I graduated. IMO Rich Robertson was better than both Peters and Nix.

East Coast

Tier 1
I'm gonna give you one that I'm almost certain you've never heard of..... Brian Cole.

https://vault.si.com/vault/2013/04/01/the-best-player-you-never-saw