• The KillerFrogs

Niko tweet

Mean Purple

Open question: Is it culturally inappropriate to bar the use of that word by Black players in the course of football operations?

I'm no lawyer, but is it right to think that 1st amendment protections don't apply in employment settings (presuming football operations are employment settings)?

Enquiring minds wish to know.
From other players tweets showing what really went down, it looks like the word is already not allowed and that's what GP called him out for. Probably don't use the quote next time. I remember a coach kicking a metal door off the frame and walked him and was seriously angry cause a black player used the word to another black player. We all (whole team in addition to the two players who said it) did sprints till we dropped. Word was not used after that. Some of us knew it was coming when we heard his office door slam in the hallway.

My guess is this player at FW was being bratty and GP decided to dress him down for all of it.

Something that is not talked about which should be talked about is that it can be a challenge to transition from being a football player into real life, especially if you don't go to the NFL.

A lot of these guys have known nothing but playing football, so when they graduate, and are no longer playing football, its hard to know what to do next with your life. It can be frustrating, and some of these guys take their frustrations out on their past.