• The KillerFrogs

FWST: Will college football be played this fall? TCU AD remains confident despite virus spike

tcudoc

I’m not an expert on the subject but I think part of the rise in hospitalizations can be attributed to the resumption of previously scheduled operations.. ie, patient comes in for a knee replacement, gets tested for covid while they’re there, tests positive, then gets counted as a hospitalized covid patient.
In our place, the test is done preop for screening for elective surgeries. If positive, they are sent back home, having never entered the hospital, and asked to quarantine and the surgery is rescheduled for much later.
It seems the number of tests being done are greatly increased, but the positivity rate is also slightly increased. Still, many of the positive patients are asymptomatic or mildly sick. Hopefully, the surviving strains of the virus are now less virulent, as some have suggested.
I just read in the mainstream news that a survivor of COVID in Chicago ( I think) had terrible lung damage and just got a lung transplant. Supposedly, it went well.

Eight

the icu at my wife's hospital is roughly half full and at this time they are not curtailing elective procedures

they do test prior to procedures, but don't test prior to admittance. turn around time has been dramatically cut on results

they haven't had mention of rationing supplies, but there is discussion they are considering a reduction in visitors.

TxFrog1999

The Man Behind The Curtain
the icu at my wife's hospital is roughly half full and at this time they are not curtailing elective procedures

they do test prior to procedures, but don't test prior to admittance. turn around time has been dramatically cut on results

they haven't had mention of rationing supplies, but there is discussion they are considering a reduction in visitors.