• The KillerFrogs

Offseason Cord Cutting: YouTube TV or Hulu TV?

TxFrog1999

The Man Behind The Curtain
Now that Sony has announced the end of Vue will come at the end of the month, I need to find a replacement for the excellent service I've been enjoying for the last two years. It looks like YouTube TV and Hulu TV are the only two real contenders with a similar channel lineup. We've had Hulu for the last 12 months thanks to a freebie with my Spotify subscription, but other than watching a few films we don't use it much, and my only experience with YouTube is their basic video service. So, does anyone here use one of these two subscription services and if so can you enlighten us as to why you're a happy subscriber (or not)?

I'm specifically looking for information on:
  • Do these services suck the bandwidth from your internet (slow down in surfing while streaming)?
  • Offer good features and streaming away from home (on trips in and out of your home area)?
  • Allow for multiple streams (devices)?
  • Is the DVR feature and access to On Demand content easy to use?

I have both at different places. I recommend YouTube.

• Do these services suck the bandwidth from your internet (slow down in surfing while streaming)?

Not for me. I have Uverse 1000 and keep two screens on during the day (CNBC and the news) + browse on several devices (tablets, phone, computer, etc.). Never had a bandwidth issue.
  • Offer good features and streaming away from home (on trips in and out of your home area)?

It works wherever I go (depending on the data service).

Yes.

Very. It's stored in the cloud. You can DVR it in Fort Worth and watch in Hong Kong, or vice versa. Or on a plane. Very useful.

Coupled with T-Mobile (free Netflix, unlimited data at $110 a mth for two lines), my wife and I save about $1,500 a mth cutting all the useless shhh-crap. The downside is you will likely lose a channel or two you occasionally watch. So what. Go to a bar or download it.

Double D

Tier 1