• The KillerFrogs

Fall camp thread

jake102

I also think "arm strength" is less important than "arm talent".

Example: Joe Flacco has tons of arm strength. Deshaun Watson has tons of arm talent. Guys like Mahomes and Aaron Rodgers have both.

Will Grier had a lot of arm talent but not a super strong arm.

texas_sicilian

So the latest Frogcast had an interesting question.... which one would you choose?
1) Delton starts and TCU goes 9-3
2) Duggan starts and it's 50/50 whether we go 7-5 or 11-1.

That's exactly the point I was trying to make in terms of what we may be looking at... which is the difficult piece to acknowledge.

If it were me (as a fan), I'd say roll the frickin dice and let's go for the gusto.

If I'm a coach where my butt's on the line if we don't have a strong offensive performance this year, I'm going for the strongest odds of having a great season, even if it means a CCG is likely out of reach.

Here's an even more frustrating scenario: we start Delton and he plods along with a few wins, we get into conference games, and we blow one or two. We then put Duggan or Collins in and win out.

Queue the "shoulda woulda coulda" crowd (myself included).

Wexahu

That's exactly the point I was trying to make in terms of what we may be looking at... which is the difficult piece to acknowledge.

If it were me (as a fan), I'd say roll the frickin dice and let's go for the gusto.

Except I'm pretty sure that isn't what we'll be looking at. The reality is the guy that gives us the best chance to go 9-3 is probably the guy that gives us the best chance to go 11-1, whoever that may be. Football games aren't played on a video game screen or a poker table which is how some armchair QBs seem to see it.

The better QB is going to give you better odds to win every game.

Eight